Skin Diving History



Del Wren - Athlete of the year

Del posses for photos with other Athlete Of The Year recipients:
From left to right, "Doc" Mathison (1953), Pat O Malley (1954), Frank Hopps (1955), Howard Patton (1956), "Big Jim" Christiansen (1957) Del Wren

Underwater Spearfishing Athlete of the Year"
A new article included the photo with the following caption"
Dellas Wren, of the National Champion Muirmen team, has been selected as 1958 National Underwater Spearfishing Athlete of the Year. This award is given by the Helms Athletic Foundation to the outstanding underwater competitor each year, it is the top honor to be bestowed upon a skin diver. Ralph N. Davis, chairman of the I.U.S.A. selection committee. Dellas Wren, who has only one leg, collected an amazing individual record for 1958…on first, one second and three thirds in five meets. He competed against 214 divers in five meets and was only beaten by seven men. He dived against more divers, and better divers in more meets than anyone in the nation. Del received his reward at a banquet given in his honor by the Long Beach (Calif.) Neptunes. Photo by Bob Johnson.

A jubilant speach after receiving the Athlete Of The Year Award.


  • Young Del

  • Del the champion

  • Athlete of the year

  • Del in publications

  • Del on his gun

  • Once a Marine

  • Del's sense of humor

  • Del on the GLACD

  • Del on two world teams

  • Del on fins

  • The Wren Board

  • Del's golden years

  • Powered By Taco Republic